Mettler-Toledo - State-of-the-Art HMI for Precision Scales

A success story of the cooperation with interfacewerk.

Today, good software is a clear quality feature that is increasingly coming to the fore. The latest technology deserves a design that is not only nice to look at, but also convinces the user to work with the device.

Metter Toledo is the world market leader for precision scales. Its products offer extensive functions, as well as excellent software that is characterized by high usability. The interfacewerk team was supporting Mettler-Toledo with the HMI (Human-Machine-Interface) design and we brought in our many years of experience in UX design to master this project.

Mt1

Requirements for Modern Touch-HMis

Touch HMIs are part of modern human-machine interfaces. Nowadays, the demands are rising: HMIs should offer the user the same flexibility, intuitive handling and fun to use as modern touch devices such as smartphones and tablets. Mettler Toledo is a pioneer in this field and has been offering modern touch HMIs with their scales since the 2010s. The scales are aimed at clear and easy-to-learn operation.

Every user, regardless of their level of knowledge, should be able to operate the devices without training, because the HMI visualizes intuitive principles that we find out in the UX Research process and implement into the software.

Make Complex Use Cases Easy

Mt2

Close cooperation between our designers, the customer's developer side and product management formed the basis of the project.

For our HMI designers, the first step was to find out common use cases. The second step was to design the simplest and most intuitive workflows to map these use cases. Our designers defined personas to meet their software requirements. In an iterative process, with many feedback loops, the workflows were visualized. So, the design was not only appealing and attractive to look at, but highly UX-driven.

Design that is Made for People

The most important goals of our designers were:

A Good Look and Feel Supports the User Experience

Mt3

Apart from an intuitive user interface, our designers gave the interface the right look and feel to match the CI and UI. Our HMI designers created a look that is striking, cool, authentic and supports the positive user experience. A positive and friendly first impression of the product is the basis for the trust that the user should develop in the product. The scales should not only enable users to do a job, but also offer a fun factor and encourage them.

Good Software is the Decisive Quality Feature

Often the fact is ignored that the interface is made for people who interact with the device on a daily basis. Making their work easier and enhancing the enjoyment for their work is a priority for us. Our designs offer the user added value: he or she can perform work steps faster and has confidence in the product because it supports him instead of blocking him. This is exactly the goal of our UX process.

By focusing on the user, Mettler Toledo creates a product that stands out from the competition and is characterized by high productivity. We also achieved a significant increase in product value by discovering time and cost saving aspects of operation.

Start your project with us

Mettler-Toledo – hochmoderne HMI für Präzisionswaagen

Eine Erfolgsgeschichte der Zusammenarbeit mit interfacewerk.

Gute Software ist heute ein klares Qualitätsmerkmal, das immer mehr in den Vordergrund rückt. Die neueste Technologie verdient ein Design, das nicht nur gut aussieht, sondern den Nutzer überzeugt, mit dem Gerät zu arbeiten.

Metter Toledo ist Weltmarktführer für Präzisionswaagen. Ihre Produkte bieten nicht nur umfangreichen Funktionen, sondern auch eine ausgezeichnete Software, die sich durch hohe Usability auszeichnet. Wir von interfacewerk durften Mettler-Toledo beim HMI (Human-Machine-Interface) Design unterstützen und unsere langjährige Erfahrung im UX Design einbringen.

Mt1

Anforderungen an moderne Touch-HMIs

Touch-HMIs sind Teil moderner Mensch-Maschine-Schnittstellen. Heutzutage wächst der Anspruch: sie sollen dem Nutzer die gleiche Flexibilität, intuitive Handhabung und Spaß an der Bedienung bieten wie moderne Touchgeräte wie Smartphones und Tablets. Hierbei ist Mettler Toledo Vorreiter und bietet schon seit den 2010er Jahren moderne Touch-HMIs mit ihren Waagen, die auf eine klare und schnell erlernbare Bedienung abzielen.

Jeder Nutzer, unabhängig von seinem Kenntnisstand, soll die Geräte ohne Schulung bedienen können, weil sie intuitive Prinzipien abbilden, die wir im UX Research Prozess herausfinden und in die Software implementieren.

Abbildung komplexer Use Cases

Mt2

Eine enge Zusammenarbeit zwischen unseren Designern, der Entwicklerseite des Kunden und den Produktmanagement bildete die Grundlage des Projekts.

Für unsere HMI Designer galt es im ersten Schritt Use Cases herauszufinden. Der zweite Schritt bestand darin, die einfachsten und intuitivsten Workflows zu gestalten, um die Use Cases abzubilden. Unsere Designer definierten Personas, um ihren Anforderungen an die Software gerecht zu werden. In einem iterativen Prozess, mit vielen Feedback Loops wurden die Workflows abgebildet. So wurde das Design nicht nur ansprechend und schön anzusehen, sondern UX-geleitet.

Design, das für Menschen gemacht ist

Die wichtigsten Ziele unserer Designer waren:

Ein gutes Look and Feel unterstützt die User Experience

Mt3

Abgesehen von einer intuitiven Nutzeroberfläche verliehen unsere Designer der Oberfläche das richtige Look and Feel abgestimmt auf die CI und das UI. Unsere HMI Designer kreierten einen Look, der plakativ, cool und authentisch ist und die positive User Experience unterstützt.

Denn ein positiver und freundlicher erster Eindruck des Produkts ist Grundlage für das Vertrauen, das der Nutzer in das Produkt entwickeln soll. Die Waagen sollen den Nutzern nicht nur ermöglichen, einen Job auszuführen, sondern auch Spaßfaktor bieten.

Gute Software ist das entscheidende Qualitätsmerkmal

Häufig wird bei HMIs die Tatsache außer Acht gelassen, dass die Schnittstelle für Menschen gemacht wird, die täglich mit der Maschine interagieren. Ihnen die Arbeit zu erleichtern sowie Spaß an der Bedienung und am Design zu stärken ist uns ein Anliegen. Durch unsere Designs wird dem Nutzer Mehrwert geboten: er kann Arbeitsschritte schneller durchführen und er hat Vertrauen in das Produkt, da es ihn unterstützt, anstatt ihn zu blockieren. Genau das ist das Ziel unseres UX Prozesses.

Durch den Nutzer-Fokus schafft Mettler Toledo ein Produkt, welches sich deutlich von der Konkurrenz abhebt und sich durch hohe Produktivität auszeichnet. Außerdem erreichten wir eine deutliche Wertsteigerung des Produkts durch die Entdeckung zeit- und kostensparender Aspekte der Bedienung.

Starten Sie Ihr Projekt mit uns

Digital shapers